My First Blog

Blog Logo

So here we are. My first blog post. As I sit here typing I really can’t believe that I have managed to get all the way to 2012 without blogging. It’s not so much that I haven’t got anything to blog about,  I’m always thinking of things that I could share with the world, but probably more about the fact that I never got around to it. But, I’ve embraced Facebook, Twitter and other forms of social media, and blogging now feels like a natural progression. So here I go . . . .

So, for the benefit of the big wide world out there, who is Simon Penny? Well contrary to what Google may tell you, I’m not an Australian artist . . . . There is a Simon Penny, who is indeed Australian, and is indeed an artist, but that isn’t me. This Simon Penny hits slightly lower in the Google listings. I’m a public sector service designer currently working in a small in-house innovation team, trying to solve some of the most pressing social issues by co-creating innovative solutions to some interesting challenges.  . . . and I LOVE IT!

Having received a BSC Honours Degree in Computing the default design principles etched into my brain are from the world of software. However, after graduating I soon moved away from the sharp end of IT, but the design principles I adopted have remained with me throughout my career. I came into local government in late 2003 but it took until the early part of 2011 for me to find a label for my niche . . . . service design.

When I’m not working, I’m probably outdoors. I’m a keen rower and spend quite a lot of my time on the water. There really isn’t a nicer way to spend a misty Sunday morning than paddling up a beautiful river. I find it helps me relax, and I quite often get flashes of creative inspiration whilst out training.

So, what will I be blogging about? Well as my tag line suggests, I’ll be writing about a bit of this, a bit of that, and most probably a little of the other. But I guess you should expect quite a bit about the public sector, design, and maybe a sprinkling of responses to the topical news items of the day.

So why don’t you join me and let me know what you think of my posts . . . .it could be fun!

Leave a Reply

